NotebookForums.com › Forums › General Notebook Discussions › Notebook Forums - General › Downloading XP Pro legal?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Downloading XP Pro legal?

post #1 of 42
Thread Starter 
Hi Everybody! (me again!)

Found this:


is it legal, not that im going to download it of course.
post #2 of 42
Thread Starter 
btw: it came from the website: http://honestoem.com/?o
post #3 of 42
Eh...sounds flaky to me.
post #4 of 42
Ill take a look at that site , cause if its all legal then , i have some shopping to do , just an exemple ...

Discreet 3D Studio MAX 6.0 with Character Studio :

Retail Price: $3999.00

We Offer For: $129.95

You Save: $3870.00

http://honestoem.com/product_details.php?product=2071

Once again this cant be true



EDITED : Found on the website :

"2. Basic Conditions of Purchasing at Downloadable Software online store"

2.3. You cannot register the software with the manufacturer and updates are available not for all the products;

2.4. You do not receive printed license documentation; (cd key/serial?????????)


Kinda hard to install updates and get service support for a program which is not supported by the manufacturer of the program , so if they dont support the product , it probably means that its illegal . PLUS , they dont talk about any Cdkey/serials , so i wonder if they give some , or are the softwares cracked so they dont require any serial , once again if its the case , its actually illegal .
post #5 of 42
Thread Starter 
In my E-mail, (they sent me an email) I have no idea who theese people are:


btw: they copyed amazon theme.
post #6 of 42
lol no, not legal. don't bother if you want to actually register it.
post #7 of 42
I can't find them on ResellerRatings.com....

I'd bypass these clowns... not worth the risks involved, ESPECIALLY with small print like "You can't update or register your product with the manufacture". What the heck is that crap?
post #8 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by suddste223
Hi Everybody! (me again!)

Found this:


is it legal, not that im going to download it of course.
Did you really have to ask???
post #9 of 42
I would've thought it's perfectly legal to download it, as long as you are the bearer of an actual paper copy of the xp pro licence with the serial number on it
post #10 of 42
Ummmm - the fact that they're listing Longhorn as for sale should clue you in to the fact that they're completely bogus.

Microsoft hasn't even sent a sales sheet to the sales reps - what makes you think this site would have gotten pricing before them?
post #11 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuurosan
I would've thought it's perfectly legal to download it, as long as you are the bearer of an actual paper copy of the xp pro licence with the serial number on it
Actually, if you go through the entire EULA (yeah, I know, who the hell really reads the entire thing, huh?), you'll find that it's actually not legal. I believe there's a section about transmission of said files or something like that, and how that breaks the agreement.
post #12 of 42
Entreprenurial warez crooks. Wonder if they are a hosted server ? Anyway they'll probably have a hi ho time with customer credit cards. A licensed reseller would not be given instructions to not upgrade or register their product. All of those expensive softwares come with protection. Even downloadables.

*They better hope AUTOdesk doesn't get ahold of them. Their brutal towards piraters.
post #13 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoffeeShark
lol no, not legal. don't bother if you want to actually register it.
I agree...
post #14 of 42
Ohh well i was bored at the office a decided to send some piracy report to these guys ; Adobe , Macromedia , Microsoft , AutoDesk .. let see how much longer this website will be Up and running

God , i would not like to have these 4 giants on my ass .. thats got to be painful
post #15 of 42
That's about as legal as uploading software using a p2p file-sharer...


...Except they're actually charging you money for it, so they're violating even more copyright laws.


In other words, don't do it unless you like paying for pirated software and giving your information to people who are gonna get Microsoft hit-men on their a$$es real soon, and maybe even yours too
post #16 of 42
Just a FYI....

Not too long ago the Department of Homeland Defense had a press release that stated a lot of software piracy sites (i.e. like this one) is actually a front for terrorist groups to raise money.

Guess drugs weren't bringing in the income.
post #17 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by onapartyrock
Just a FYI....

Not too long ago the Department of Homeland Defense had a press release that stated a lot of software piracy sites (i.e. like this one) is actually a front for terrorist groups to raise money.

Guess drugs weren't bringing in the income.
wow...
post #18 of 42
Did a Whois:

--------------------------------------------
Queried Domain Information as follows
-----------------------------------------------

Domain Name : honestoem.com

::Registrant::
Name : ANTHONY CRIPPEN
Email : jimjim1@post.cz
Address : P.O. Box 5009 Pirae TAHITI
Zipcode : 98716
Nation : PF
Tel : (689) 435695
Fax :

::Administrative Contact::
Name : ANTHONY CRIPPEN
Email : jimjim1@post.cz
Address : P.O. Box 5009 Pirae TAHITI
Zipcode : 98716
Nation : PF
Tel : (689) 435695
Fax :

::Technical Contact::
Name : ANTHONY CRIPPEN
Email : jimjim1@post.cz
Address : P.O. Box 5009 Pirae TAHITI
Zipcode : 98716
Nation : PF
Tel : (689) 435695
Fax :

::Name Servers::
f1.honestoem.com
f2.honestoem.com

:ates & Status::
Created Date 2005-08-08 01:40:07 EDT
Updated Date 2005-08-08 01:40:07 EDT
Valid Date 2006-08-08 01:40:07 EDT
Status ACTIVE
post #19 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by onapartyrock
Did a Whois:

--------------------------------------------
Queried Domain Information as follows
-----------------------------------------------

Domain Name : honestoem.com

::Registrant::
Name : ANTHONY CRIPPEN
Email : jimjim1@post.cz
Address : P.O. Box 5009 Pirae TAHITI
Zipcode : 98716
Nation : PF
Tel : (689) 435695
Fax :

::Administrative Contact::
Name : ANTHONY CRIPPEN
Email : jimjim1@post.cz
Address : P.O. Box 5009 Pirae TAHITI
Zipcode : 98716
Nation : PF
Tel : (689) 435695
Fax :

::Technical Contact::
Name : ANTHONY CRIPPEN
Email : jimjim1@post.cz
Address : P.O. Box 5009 Pirae TAHITI
Zipcode : 98716
Nation : PF
Tel : (689) 435695
Fax :

::Name Servers::
f1.honestoem.com
f2.honestoem.com

:ates & Status::
Created Date 2005-08-08 01:40:07 EDT
Updated Date 2005-08-08 01:40:07 EDT
Valid Date 2006-08-08 01:40:07 EDT
Status ACTIVE

hehe a Czech in Tahiti selling software in the US. Definitely Legit.
post #20 of 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsukihime
Ohh well i was bored at the office a decided to send some piracy report to these guys ; Adobe , Macromedia , Microsoft , AutoDesk .. let see how much longer this website will be Up and running

God , i would not like to have these 4 giants on my ass .. thats got to be painful
Already beat you to it, well, at least for Microsoft.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Notebook Forums - General
NotebookForums.com › Forums › General Notebook Discussions › Notebook Forums - General › Downloading XP Pro legal?