New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ebay selling question

post #1 of 28
Thread Starter 
Hey all,

Anyone here as seller or buyer already used the payment via www.ebay-payments.com

In fact, i sold my AW system to a guy in england and we used this way.

The guy send payments and i received a mail from ebay-payments that they received the payment and i can ship the laptop.

I shipped it, and the guy allow ebay-payments to send me the money.

The money has been sent on monday, but i received nothing here in my bank account in belgium.

Anyne here already used this way or am i been ripped off ?

I'm waiting till monday for contacting a lawyer but i have a doubt, the buyer told me he sent the money, but i really doubt.

Anyone here experienced this ?

Thx for all infos u can supplied me.
post #2 of 28
i used ebay once or twice, and i always received money before i shipped....

but i think he has to receive the pc before he can allow your money to be sent to you, thats the way i see it on the site you link too, it says :

Step 1: The buyer and seller agree to use eBay Secure Payments for the

transaction, which includes a description of the merchandise, sale price, number of days for the Buyer's inspection, and any shipping information.


Step 2: The buyer submits a payment to agreed eBay service.
eBay.com verifies the payment. Processing time varies by payment method.


Step 3: Upon payment verification eBay Transactions will notify the seller that it
has received the money and he Seller is authorized to ship merchandise and submit

tracking information. eBay.com verifies that the Buyer receives the shipment.


Step 4: The buyer receives, inspects and approves the goods and notifies the

Secure Payments Office site that all is OK.


Step 5: The eBay Secure Payments pays the Seller by check, wire transfer or

PayPal. The transaction is complete.

so to me that means, once the dude has received the computer, he notifies ebay and then they give you the money....
post #3 of 28
????
ebay-payments.com is owned by some guy in Indiana.
ebay.com is owned by ebay, inc.

This is from ebay's help pages:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/confidenc...nt-escrow.html
Be vigilant! Use caution when considering an escrow service
• If you are a buyer or a seller and choose to pay or be paid through an escrow service, you should only use Escrow.com (www.escrow.com), eBay's approved escrow service.
• There are fraudulent escrow services, so use caution if a seller suggests using a service other than www.escrow.com
• If your trading partner insists that you use a specific escrow service and will not accept www.escrow.com (or an eBay approved international escrow service for international transactions) as an alternative, please decline the transaction and report the seller or buyer to eBay.

I clicked the link you posted, but it took me directly to an ebay sign-in page and I won't enter my user/pass on a site that reeks like phish.

I hope I'm wrong, but you might want to contact ebay's Trust&Safety department...and also change your ebay password. Now.
post #4 of 28
these are pics of the site, i never had to sign in to anything, it took me straight to this page.....

pic 1/3
http://img414.imageshack.us/img414/1979/ebay16cw.jpg

2/3
http://img414.imageshack.us/img414/7340/ebay28lw.jpg

3/3
http://img414.imageshack.us/img414/517/ebay32xp.jpg

I dont know if the site is real or not but -
all i can say is, NO WAY would i send a pc off to anyone without cash in hand first......
post #5 of 28
Something smells fishy <congrats to me, I resisted the obvious.)...is it just me but does the layout look and feel wrong?

I dunno....I hope I'm wrong.
post #6 of 28
ALWAYS ask for the money first.
post #7 of 28
Thread Starter 
Yes, i know, but i received an email from ebay, and think it was true.

I have all infos since i used UPS, the package has been successfully delivered.

The guy that bought it to me is in London, anyone here would help me te solve this out ?

I have full address, if someone could help me, it'd be very great.

Thx in advance.

I thin i also have the phone number, i really need help, i'm 25 years old and can't afford to loose 2500euros.
post #8 of 28
if i was you, id get onto the cops in england, as it will be classed as fraud, i would help ya, but i live about 800miles away...

phone the number the dude gave ya, and if you get BS then call cops in england. but if it is fraud, even if they do catch whoever it was, you HAVE lost your money/pc, as they would rather goto jail and keep the goodies instead of hand goodies back and goto jail....

I hope it aint so JC
post #9 of 28
Thread Starter 
Many thx for the answer.

Do u live in UK ? Could i send you an email with the full story which that you could give to the police in england ?
post #10 of 28
you would have to contact the police, as you are the victim, if i did it they would say for me to tell you to phone them...

if it happened in london, then you need to contact new scotland yard, as they are teh ones to deal with...

i tried the phone and there is no number listed for that address, and also on some websites, the postcode is false aswell, but, on other websites the postcode is for harrow in london, but only the first 3 letters/numbers, the last 3 look false, i will ask my friend who works for PO security where that postcode leads to but that wont be til monday now, as he probly in bed just now and he dont work sunday. with BT there is definetly not a phone at that address.... I was surprised that they never gave you a door number, as most if not all houses over here have a number before them. except houses or buildings with names.....

I will get some more info by monday evening for you, when meh buddy finishes his work.... we will know one way or another if that postcode is real or not...

my 500th post and i reach it with an absolute nightmare of a post.
post #11 of 28
Thread Starter 
Many thx for your help.

Could u plz give me all infos for scotlandyard police ? Phone and full address and maybe an email.

I read feedback on ebay, and yes, i confirm i've been ripped off.

BTW, i still have the UPS bill and the package has been successfully delivered, so it shouldn't be a prob to solve this prob.
post #12 of 28
first contact your own police as it was fraud over the internet, and also contact, uk police, but i think your own police will do that, but you do it also just to make sure.

http://www.met.police.uk/

Harrow Police Station
74 Northolt Road
South Harrow
London
HA2 0DN

thats the harrow police station, so i would contact them...


http://www.met.police.uk/report_a_cr...tions.htm#Frau
post #13 of 28
Thread Starter 
OK, many thx for infos, i'll contact a lawyer here and will ask if i have to contact local police or uk police.

Many many thx, i really appreciate this.
post #14 of 28
Thanks

Hope that info I sent helps as well.

Please keep us updated.

Red
post #15 of 28
Biggest ebay advice i could give,

NEVER NEVER NEVER, use an escrow service that a buyer suggest, its asking to get ripped off.

sad but true, i highly doubt you will see the money back, there is high chance it was delivered to an unhabited place where the person was just waiting to pick the item up, just to disappear with it.

and unfortunatly, its not a high fraud, so investigation will prolly not get very far.

i do hope things work out for you tho.
post #16 of 28
Man I hope everything works out for you .
post #17 of 28
Just as a quick note, you can spoof an e-mail address quite easily, so never ever completely rely on an email.

I live above london closer to The Wash, but i am not sure about the laws in this case and how you would come to resolve this problem.

This does not seem a very nice situation for you, hope you get it sorted out.
post #18 of 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by j.clausse
Hey all,

Anyone here as seller or buyer already used the payment via www.ebay-payments.com

In fact, i sold my AW system to a guy in england and we used this way.

The guy send payments and i received a mail from ebay-payments that they received the payment and i can ship the laptop.

I shipped it, and the guy allow ebay-payments to send me the money.

The money has been sent on monday, but i received nothing here in my bank account in belgium.

Anyne here already used this way or am i been ripped off ?

I'm waiting till monday for contacting a lawyer but i have a doubt, the buyer told me he sent the money, but i really doubt.

Anyone here experienced this ?

Thx for all infos u can supplied me.

Did the buyer contact you asking you to end the auction early if he used this ebay payment "site." If so then this is indeed a scam. It happens all the time to individuals selling their laptops on ebay. It even happened to me recently: http://contact.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI...lerQuestion_VI
post #19 of 28
If the item has not been delivered yet, you should be able to contact the shipper and have delivery stopped.
post #20 of 28
Thread Starter 
Laptop has been delivered.

I'll call a lawyer.

I'll update the post when i'll have news.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Alienware General