NotebookForums.com › Forums › Notebook Manufacturers › Alienware Notebook Forums › Alienware Area-51 and Aurora Notebooks › Area 51-m Extremem for 1,300.. is this a scam.. check this out
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Area 51-m Extremem for 1,300.. is this a scam.. check this out  

post #1 of 17
Thread Starter 
Hey guys.... i found a killer deal on a website, and i cant figure out if its legit.. i just wrote them a e-mail, lets see what they say.. heres the mods and price

.Alienware Area51m Extreme Magnesium Alloy Chassis $1300
1-Year AlienCare Toll-Free 24/7 Phone Support with Depot Service
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Area-51m Case with 16.1" UltraXGA 1600x1200 LCD Display - Saucer Silver
Intel® Pentium 4 Processor 3.2GHz 800MHz FSB w/ 512KB Cache
SiS648FX + SiS963L AGP8X Chipset
1024MB DDR PC-2700 - Two SO-DIMMs
Hitachi 60GB 7200 RPM ATA100 with 8MB Cache
AREA-51M NVIDIA FX go5600 Module with 128MB DDR
Creative Sound Blaster Extigy 5.1 - External USB
2x1x8x DVD-RW / 16x10x24x CD-RW Combo w/Software
Integrated 10/100Mb Ethernet NIC
56K Modem with V.90 Technology
USB Floppy Drive
Additional Primary Lithium-Ion Smart Battery Pack
Plantronics .Audio 60 Stereo Headset w/MIC
MS Sidewinder Precision 2 USB
Microsoft IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 - USB - Saucer Silver

if you dont beleive me heres the site... tell me what u think

http://www.electronics-webshop.com/alienware.htm
check it out and reply!!
post #2 of 17
I agree... buy it from Alienware... play it safe. That web site is WAY to vague
post #3 of 17
Thread Starter 
easier said then done when this place is 1,300$ and alienare is 4,440!!!
post #4 of 17
Thread Starter 
come on guys give me your output. go to the webpage... should i bother to invest the $$$. if this is legit thiis is one BANGIN deal!!! go to the webpage and reply!!!!!! oh, is it even possible for someone to steal your $ through a western union transfer???
post #5 of 17
SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM
This lot have been mentioned several times before. Alienware couldn't build them for that price.
If it looks too good to be true it IS too good to be true.
You will only get a new Alienware from Alienware
post #6 of 17
not the mention the fact that u are screwed IF YOU EVER GET ITand have problems.
post #7 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deutch420
easier said then done when this place is 1,300$ and alienare is 4,440!!!
Different site, and layout, but the approach is the same along with the products.

http://notebookforums.com/showthread.php?t=14706
post #8 of 17
Check out this site, its auction related but still valuable reading
http://www.auctionguild.com/generic118.html
post #9 of 17
Scam
post #10 of 17
It's definitely a scam; I mentioned it to Alienware (UK) and their official reply was:

Hi Dylan,

Thanks for letting us know - we definitely don't sell through this
company and you would be well advised to steer clear. In fact we don't
sell through any distributors at all. All of our systems for sale
outside the US are manufactured here in Ireland.

I will pass this info on to our legal department.

Kind regards,

(I've removed name)

European Marketing Specialist
Alienware Ltd.
post #11 of 17
Would you send $1300 to Bulgaria?

Check out the about us:

Electronic-WebShop was founded in 1999 with the goal of providing customers with a reliable source of quality laptop computers at a low cost. Our business offices are located in Sofia, Bulgaria, and we work with laptop manufacturers and refurbishers on both the East and West coasts.
post #12 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deutch420
come on guys give me your output. go to the webpage... should i bother to invest the $$$. if this is legit thiis is one BANGIN deal!!! go to the webpage and reply!!!!!! oh, is it even possible for someone to steal your $ through a western union transfer???
This was from the auction guild:
Quote:
Western Union Wire Transfer - This is the method of payment that is 100% guaranteed to be a scam. WU Wire Transfer is NOT meant for purchasing items it is designed to send money to friends and family, people you know personally. Let me repeat that, WU wire transfer is not for buying items from any seller, no matter how legitimate they sound or appear, no matter where they say they are located, no matter how many ways they give you to allegedly 'secure' the payment with secret passwords, changed names etc. No matter what a Western Union agent might say about there being secure methods to send a WU wire transfer, it is also a lie, as no such security exists. WU Wire Transfer transactions are 100% guaranteed to be fraudulent. If you are asked or required to pay via a Western Union wire transfer, STOP, do not proceed, do NOT send money or it WILL be stolen and will never be recovered. If you can afford to give away money, please send it to our organization, as we will put it to much better use than the scammers will.
post #13 of 17
yes, def. a real scam.
he has (badly) copied safeshoppingnetwork.com (his is safeshoppingnetwork.org).
I reported him before and he changed websites from electronic-deals.com to electronics-webshop.com.
Look at the whois for the site!!
post #14 of 17
wuts up i found this same website about a month ago and asked about it on this forum, one guy said he did a backround search on the website and it says it was created in january of 2004 not 1999 by a guy named barry smith in texas. tell me this is not a scam.
post #15 of 17
once and for all... it´s as simple as this:
to get a new alienware you have to buy it from alienware.
to get a used alienware, broken alienware, piece of rock, or something else that is not a new alienware, you can buy it from whereever you want.
post #16 of 17
something tells me you will be in phase 0 a long time . . .but then I can't get out of phase 4
post #17 of 17
Scam...thread closed.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
This thread is locked  
NotebookForums.com › Forums › Notebook Manufacturers › Alienware Notebook Forums › Alienware Area-51 and Aurora Notebooks › Area 51-m Extremem for 1,300.. is this a scam.. check this out