New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Too good to be true?

post #1 of 19
Thread Starter 
http://www.tampalaptops.com
I came across this deal, and I'm wondering if you guys think this site is legitament? Or is this deal too good to be true? If anyone has actually bought from them, could they please post what their experience was like!
Thanks for reading.
post #2 of 19
Well, a 15.2" Apple Titanium Powerbook with 1GB of RAM at $1500 below list (roughly 60% off) is pretty hard to believe. Think about it. Heck, the RAM alone is $400. How do you think they do it?

I do note they don't have a reseller rating which should at least give you pause. Doesn't mean they are no good, but no rating is not very comforting.
post #3 of 19
Ask them for a address, im in tampa, im interested.. If I can buy one with cash then ill get one, and confirm there legit to you.. ask em
post #4 of 19
Thread Starter 
That's the problem! When I called the Tampa office I got a message machine, that said, "This is ***********, leave a message after the beep."
When I called the TN office I got a voicemail for a guy named Joe. So I dropped a email yesterday morning, and haven't yet got a reponse.
Another question, since they are Pay Pal verified, what does that mean? Also, if I purchase trough Pay Pal, how does that protect me, if it is a fraudulent website?
post #5 of 19
Well, I did a reverse search on the Tampa and Clarksville number, and recieved no matches. That dosen't mean much, but if I can't get a street address, I'de beware.

Prana
post #6 of 19
It's not hard to become paypal verified . . . anyone can do it . . . some of their prices don't look outrageous but I didn't look much . . . you might be interested in this . . .

Whois info for, tampalaptops.com:
Registrant:
tampalaptops.com
2116A Oak Tree Villas
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
US

Domain name: TAMPALAPTOPS.COM

Administrative Contact:
Fitzgerald, Kyle futsoulja@yahoo.com
2116A Oak Tree Villas
Hopkinsville, KY 42240
US
270-498-0757
Technical Contact:
Operations Centre, Network hostmaster@tera-byte.com
Suite #900 CN Tower
10004-104 Ave. NW
Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0K1
CA
+1.7804131868 Fax: +1.7804131869


Hmmm . . . Tampa . . . . Kentucky . . . . Tennessee . . . something seems off to me.
post #7 of 19
Hey jroe,

How did you find out that domain information about this company? I want to find out some more information about another domain name. Thanks!!
post #8 of 19
Another items to check, contact each state's Department of Consumers and/or Business or whatever they call it there. If its a partnership or corporation, they will be able to confirm that and provide more data. Also, you can check with the local cities, many require a business license and or othat permits.

There's also Better Business Bureau but they are not nearly as good as they used to be. I would not take their word only on something. I use it only to confirm other information or as a last resort.
post #9 of 19
LOL - I am in tampa and I wouldnt touch these guys even if they were legit...dont ask me why - its just a "feeling" thing...
post #10 of 19
Thread Starter 
Thanks for the help! After reaing your responses, I don't think it would be such a good idea to buy from them. Altough a G4 1GHZ. PowerBook with a Superdrive for $999 is tempting , I don't think I'm going to risk that $999 on something that could be a fraud! Again, thanks for your help!
post #11 of 19
One thing I do quite often is access the public records about domain names - goto www.internic.com and do a whois search on the domain name . . . this will give your the company they registered with . . . in this case opensrs . . . then you goto that company in this case I think it was www.opensrs.net and you do their whois . . . then you get the above info - in some cases it's extremely helpful in others not . . . . quite a few states also have data online for the BBB and for anything that incorporated so you can do a ton of digging online if you learn how . . .
post #12 of 19

If it sounds too good to be true, IT IS

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoeingDrew
That's the problem! When I called the Tampa office I got a message machine, that said, "This is ***********, leave a message after the beep."
When I called the TN office I got a voicemail for a guy named Joe. So I dropped a email yesterday morning, and haven't yet got a reponse.
Another question, since they are Pay Pal verified, what does that mean? Also, if I purchase trough Pay Pal, how does that protect me, if it is a fraudulent website?

Ok, here's the deal. Stop whatever you're doing right now. Breathe. Slowly re-read every word you just wrote here. Stop again. Breathe. Let that information process in your brain. Don't think about the excitement of the price. Let the cheap price dwindle away into the far recesses of your mind.

Now, having a clear mind while looking at what you're saying, would you expect a legitimate company of being like this? If so, please order at the first available opportunity so that you may become the first person to give this "company" their first negative rating on www.resellerratings.com . However, if "thinking" about it has raised a few doubts, then you're on the right road to saving yourself time, money and grief.


Sorry if this is a bit pointed, but it just seems like it should be common sense to me for ppl to stop and think about what they're looking at. I understand the excitement of cheap prices, but that's exactly what gets us in trouble. You've got to get rid of the super-discount mindset. You've got to realize that, with the exception of the rare person doing a firesale due to an emergency, you will not find brand new laptops for $1500 below list. It's just not going to happen.

Patience, young Padiwan.
post #13 of 19
Any site that offers "Big Commissions" selling laptops for them sounds screwy...

Florida is a criminal's paradise, as you cannot have your property seized (why do you think O.J. moved down there ASAP?). I'm always cautious of companies in Florida.

-myrkat
post #14 of 19
You cant have your property seized...? hmm.. im starting to love florida
post #15 of 19
Ohhh yea...
post #16 of 19
Thread Starter 

An Update!!!

Sorry about the slow response, but i figured I'd give you all an update.
Well, as it turns I emailed the guy this "How is that you are able to sell your computers so cheaply?" and he tells me the following "We currently have discontinued our line of products, and will be updating the site shortly." So, I am still curious as to how they are able to sell this stuff so cheap, so while looking around the site for the 300th time I click a few of the links on the Apple Powerbook description. When I clicked them they where dead links, so I clicked prooperties and i turns out that the homepage of the link was www.argupc.com. So, I went there and it turns out that they sell 10 notebooks for $5,000 or 20 for $15,000. Also, these notebooks where the exact same ones that www.tampalaptops.com was selling. So, i emailed tampalaptops again, and it went something like this..
"Dear Sir/Maddam,
I was wondering if your company did/does purchase your computers from www.argupc.com. The reason I ask is because one of the links in the Powerbook article on your website is linked backed to them. If you have bought computers from them, are they a good company to work with? Do they deliver what they promise? Would you recommend buying from them?
-Thanks
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Sir,
I do not recommend buying anything from argupc. We were doing business with argupc for a while and had some very serious problems with this company. That is why we have taken down our product line and now are offering a new product line. Our website will be updated soon.

Kyle Fitzgerald
Tampa Laptops

So as it turns out tampalaptops was legit, but you couldn't buy a laptop from them if you wanted to anyway.

MYSTERY SOLVED
post #17 of 19
i dont trust any site that you pay through pay pal to easy to get scammed that way.....i dont even give credit card information online......hackers are to good these days.........i talk to a person on the phone....gives me a bit more piece of mind
post #18 of 19
well the only way to find out is to buy a laptop from them with a stolen credit card....that will teach um
post #19 of 19
Why not have someone that lives near the TAMPA area stop by and lookat the business and their inventory,etc. and let us know what they find ???
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Notebooks For Sale - Wanted