NotebookForums.com › Forums › General Notebook Discussions › Notebook Forums - General › Anyone buy from Ibuypower.com?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Anyone buy from Ibuypower.com?

post #1 of 5
Thread Starter 
I'm thinking about buying a laptop from them http://www.ibuypower.com/ibp/store/c...r.aspx?mid=251

But just want to know if anyone bought a laptop from them and if you think it's a good idea to buy from them. Because the price looks a lot cheaper than from any where else. But I don't want to have a laptop with cheap parts and breaking down on me. I was also thinking about an ASUS laptop or a customable dell laptop because it actually has an option of a graphic card. I'm trying to get a laptop with a 8600gt because I plan on using it for games and I don't think I have to worry much about battery because my college has a lot of outlets everywhere. Would just like some feedback Thanks!
post #2 of 5
bought my system from them about 3 years back. during the first year i sent it back twice, once because of a crappy screen, once because of my own stupidity (i really didn't have to send it in). In both cases the RMA took longer than i would have liked, but a lot of it can be attributed to ground shipping both ways (figure about 10 to 12 days on the road). The initial shipping of the system took a bit long too (24 days order to delivery) and again thats with 5 days shipping time..and granted this specific model was on backorder everywhere else at the time. Generally speaking yes, they are a legit store and you can buy from them. HOWEVER: service is slow so if possible try to find same rig somewhere else, even if it means paying $50 more. (and btw, ever since they replaced the screen about 6 months in, its been a little over 3 years now and the system works just perfect)
post #3 of 5
I was actually looking at Ibuypower.com too cuz of their prices for a laptop for college, but they're not that great on www.resellerratings.com. Seems like the horror stories are pretty bad.

It's your call really if you think the price is worth the "risk".

If you're looking for a 8600GT, great service, and great value, check out the Sager NP2090 / Compal IFL90 from Xotic PC or PNB or Sagernotebooks. I bought mine from Xotic, it's a great laptop and the service is absolutely great.

Good luck.
post #4 of 5
i would recommend snatching up a sager from pctorque or some other retailer. I bought my Sager 4760 over 4 years ago and its still a beast. Only issue i ever had was my memory which is easily replaceable.

good luck with the decision.
post #5 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelazyone22 View Post
check out the Sager NP2090

Good luck.
hehe thats what OP linked too :P



to OP, yeah id go with xoticpc.com justin is teh man, and they are pretty good peeps


soulsaver
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Notebook Forums - General
NotebookForums.com › Forums › General Notebook Discussions › Notebook Forums - General › Anyone buy from Ibuypower.com?