NotebookForums.com › Forums › General Notebook Discussions › Notebook Forums - General › what do you think of this deal on a macbook?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

what do you think of this deal on a macbook?

post #1 of 5
Thread Starter 
ok so I have been looking into buying an apple now for quite a while...
I have found a place where I can buy an apple for really really cheap....

i mean really cheap...
it uses paypal and an escrow service but im still afraid... how could it be so cheap?

here is the link thopugh im not sure if I am suppose to give away my place where I want to buy...

http://www.dhgate.com/Free-shippingb...b0b8f5b28.html

what do you think??
I have bought things there beofre but never electronics... too scared too...
post #2 of 5
if the deal seems too good to be true then it almost always is.

honestly i wouldnt do it. yeah it may be legit, but thats about a 5% chance of it being legit. the other 95% is that it isnt.

you wanna risk your cash... your business but i wouldnt.
post #3 of 5
Thread Starter 
yeah but there is an escrow service on that website...
doesnt that mean he wont get the money till im satisfied with the item?
does anyone here know how to checkif a site is legit...
cause I found that persons website...
post #4 of 5
Most online escrow services are scams.

I smell a scam after looking at that website.
post #5 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamguy4 View Post
yeah but there is an escrow service on that website...
the word escrow does NOT mean safety. in fact the vast majority of escrow services are scams set up by sellers simply to steal money from people who assume that escrow means safety. a professional looking and polished site also does not mean safe either.

do not trust the words escrow. if you cant pay the retail price in your nation, or a known safe nation from a known vendor then you really should not be looking to buy. it sucks but if you want safety you should be living by that rule.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamguy4 View Post
doesnt that mean he wont get the money till im satisfied with the item?
yes, in theory thats what it means, unless of course that is a scam at which point they take your money (remember they own the "escrow" service) and walk away with it. they dont however send you the goods if it is a scam.

the whole point of escrow is to have a trusted third party not affiliated with either the seller or the buyer hold the money while the deal is being done. it means that the seller knows the funds exist and are secure and the buyer knows they will get the product. having an escrow service that is affiliated with the seller breaks the whole point since you might as well just give your money to the seller off the top.

this may or may not be a scam, but remember the escrow company is a company as well, they want to make money, and the question is who is paying them since the services dont come free... if you are not paying then who is?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamguy4 View Post
does anyone here know how to checkif a site is legit...
cause I found that persons website...
use a whois search to find domain registration info, check the claims on the site, if possible check the known prices (especially distributor or manufacturer cost prices) wherever possible. if the prices on the site are below cost its a bad sign, sorry but nobody sells below their cost, especially on top of the line goods.

as always, the golden rule of buying things is, if it seems too good to be true it always is.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Notebook Forums - General
NotebookForums.com › Forums › General Notebook Discussions › Notebook Forums - General › what do you think of this deal on a macbook?