NotebookForums.com › Forums › Notebook Manufacturers › Other Brand/Manufacturers › Other Brand Discussion › Cyberpower S4-3200 notebook
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Cyberpower S4-3200 notebook

post #1 of 29
Thread Starter 
Hi. Recently i noticed a laptop that is just about "perfect" for me at that price (about 1700 ish)
It is the Cyberpower S4-3200 notebook
But after searching through the forums, there seems to be some spectulation about that laptop.
Does anyone know what ODM that laptop is from? or any wrong specs displayed on the website...?
Here are the specs to the laptop

ResellerRatings.com 's rating for the company is not bad.

Go check it out.
i have configured at Dothan 1.8, 512mb PC2700 DDR memory, 60gig 7200rpm HD for $1645!! That's pretty low for a system on Radeon 9700, and at a resolution of 1400X1050 (or 1280x1024?)!

There has to be something wrong or it is a great deal.

Previously i was so sure about buying Compal CL56 but after i came across to this laptop, i just had some doubt.
I just want to make sure with this active forum's users!
post #2 of 29
It's either the ECS 556 or the Aopen 1557. Not sure exactly though. Someone will enter this thread with a definitive answer though.
post #3 of 29
Doesn't look exactly as an Aopen1557 as the display is 15.0" SXGA+ TFT LCD 1280x1024 Pixels so 5:4 compared to Aopen's 4:3 15" SXGA+ and XGA displays, I dont remember Aopen having any Audio DJ but I have a good but short memory so I might be wrong on that ... I would surely like to see what is the barebone's manufacturer, yet again Aopen is available with all Dothans and 128MB 9700 so it is not too shabby now. I will wait for someone to giving the answer :]

[edit] the specs give 15.0" SXGA+ TFT LCD 1280x1024 but the little system summary scrolling with the page says 15.0" SXGA+ TFT LCD 1400x1050 so I just get confused on which is right :]
post #4 of 29
This looks like a sweet notebook. But there is something strange: Under Specification at the bottom of the first customization page for the notebook, it says that the graphics run at AGP 8X? I didn't know 8X was possible with notebooks today. Someone else in the forum stated that no current notebook video cards have 8 pipelines (or something of that nature.)
post #5 of 29
yeah 8x is not available for lappies yet
post #6 of 29
No, but seriously, does anyone know the ODM for this notebook?
post #7 of 29
My zd7000 shows 8x AGP:

post #8 of 29
90% sure its asus and thats its been out for a long while, they just up'd the specs
post #9 of 29
Looks like the new Asus models w/ 9700 are listed on the official Asus site:

http://usa.asus.com/products/noteboo...n_overview.htm

Asus M6Ne and Asus M6NBe.
post #10 of 29
Thread Starter 
Thanks for all the feed back.
But I am wondering if anyone on the forums actually bought one? It is great for the price.

Quote:
Looks like the new Asus models w/ 9700 are listed on the official Asus site:
However the it sort of looks like the new Asus, but i dont think it is. i dont see any other online resellers selling that laptop. the "M6Ne"

and by judging it from the website, is it a good buy over Compal CL56?
post #11 of 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyu
Thanks for all the feed back.
But I am wondering if anyone on the forums actually bought one? It is great for the price.


However the it sort of looks like the new Asus, but i dont think it is. i dont see any other online resellers selling that laptop. the "M6Ne"

and by judging it from the website, is it a good buy over Compal CL56?
I don't think it is the new ASUS either. I sent Cyberpower an email, I'll see what they say.
post #12 of 29
Thread Starter 
Hmmm seems like no one knows about this laptop.
I have send them a short mail asking them what ODM that laptop is from. havent heard from them yet.....
post #13 of 29
I've was interested in this laptop too after seeing the specs/prices, but now I'm a bit wary. I read a thread similar to this one (http://notebookforums.com/showthread.php?t=25860) and there are discrepancies in the specs and the pictures don't seem to fit. Turned me off to this dispite the awesome deal it was promising. Who knows though, may just be that awesome of a deal, judge for yourself.
post #14 of 29
I am almost absolutely sure that this is a AOpen 1557X (where X stands for some letter in the alphabet). The specs, dimensions, and weight are an exact match. The correct specs are 15inch XGA(1024x768) or SXGA+(1400x1050). 1280x1024 is SXGA and is not a possibility for this system. None of the pictures on CyberPower's website is correct for this system. They are of the Uniwill N258SA and Asus M3, neither of which match the specs for this system.
post #15 of 29
3 days with no response from Cyberpower. Hate to see the service you get once they have your money.
post #16 of 29
If it is an aopen 1557, then it's most probably the 1557G.
post #17 of 29
I was very interested in the Cyberpower S4-3200 after seeing their ad in Laptop magazine and seeing the specs and prices, but after noticing some discrepancies on their web site, opted for an Acer (TM292LMI):

* Site says no restock fee within 30 days, however if you read the actual warrenty it says 15%

* Multiple, different cases on the Web site and magazine ad are shown depicting the 3200.

* Some areas of the Web site show 3 year warrenty for all systems, actual warrenty states 1 year for laptops, 3 years for desktops.

* After calling for more info (and to find out if you could get it without that huge logo), the representative was extremely rude (and said you can't get it without that huge logo).

Let us know if you get one and if so, how it turns out.

Rob
post #18 of 29
you're kidding. You get that frickin' logo on the lappy? I thought it was something transposed over the picture of the lappy to be displayed on the site alone. Nvm. this lappy is out of the picture for me. I'm gonna go with the battalion e turbo.
post #19 of 29
Thread Starter 
W.T.F.
I thought that logo is just for show. Well, after all this effort trying to figure this laptop out, i might just scratch it of my list. I suppose their customer support blows. That just ruin the whole thing.

And i guess no other reseller sells this specif laptop make it more suspicious.
Any new info and updates would be helpful!

Compal CL56 on the top of my list now.
post #20 of 29
ibuypower sells the same notebook and its called the battalion e turbo. Same specs available just not any stupid logo! I'm gonna go with this one. In two weeks...I order!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Other Brand Discussion
NotebookForums.com › Forums › Notebook Manufacturers › Other Brand/Manufacturers › Other Brand Discussion › Cyberpower S4-3200 notebook