NotebookForums.com › Forums › Notebook Manufacturers › Sager & Clevo Notebook Forums › Sager & Clevo Notebooks › Is this valid auction on ebay fpr Sager 9860?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Is this valid auction on ebay fpr Sager 9860?

post #1 of 44
Thread Starter 
I saq this auction on ebay for sager 9860. Looks like a hack.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MEWA:IT

Anyone knows how to check if this is a genuine auction?
post #2 of 44
Quote:
You are bidding on a 1 month old Sager 8960, just used. I received it as a gift and now I want to sell it, because I don't have time for games no more. This is the configuration:
I hate to be a ney sayer but it not a 8960 its a 9860. "because I don't have time for games no more" poor english... oh yes and the selling cost is about $1800.00 below cost(based on a rough guess... too lazy to spec it on our site ) + he is willing to pay shipping by USPS so it could take a month and you can't file a claim with USPS until after 60 days. His most expensive item he sold prior to this was a Super NES for $27.00. Need I say more?
post #3 of 44
Thread Starter 
I got your point. It looks suspicious to me. I contacted the seller with alternative email he has given. He responded, and said he misspelled the modal number. I asked him to send a pic. of laptop with his ebay id on it. Still waiting. But I'm just wondering if there's anyway One can report these kind of activity to ebay? I was just looking on different options on ebay but not able to find some way to report it.
post #4 of 44
Lots of times you will find that they steal pictures off of sites. To see if it is legit or not ask him to place somthing weird on the lid of it, like excactly 96 cents in change, or your name on a peice of paper.
post #5 of 44
i emailed him too but have not heard back.

Paypal is the way he accepts payment though.. if he doesnt send the laptop, it is easy to reverse the charge and get your money back.
post #6 of 44
Thread Starter 
That is a great idea. I've sent him a mail on both ebay and one he mentioned accounts. I'll wait for his reply. I think that account is hacked.
Thanks Luke.

I've asked him about paypal in my previous mail. He not accepts paypal and he said he has changed his banks so it'll take weeks to link the new one to paypal. Also I contacted him earlier thru email he mentioned in item description.
post #7 of 44
When you email be sure to email through ebay and not the email posted on the site. This one doesn't actually have all the significant signs that it is a scam. The free shipping worldwide is very suspect, though and it is unusual to see an auction for that expensive of an item with such poor presentation and grammer. The "pro" scammers always demand you use their email address and not ebay and also do not accept PayPal payments. So if you really want it, I'd try communicating through eBay and try to get a phone number, get more pictures, etc. Post here again if you find out anything new.

Edit: I see he says he doesn't take PayPal, yet lists it on his auction. I wouldn't send this guy 2 cents. I bet it's a hacked account.
post #8 of 44
so your saying that he does not take paypal?
post #9 of 44
Thread Starter 
Yes thats what he said to me in the first reply to my mail.
post #10 of 44

Those are My Pictures from My Review

Those are Pictures from My Review back in November.

http://notebookforums.com/showthread.php?t=50352
post #11 of 44
Anyone wants wire transfer only is a guaranteed thief.
post #12 of 44
Thread Starter 
Hmm looks like someone hacked the account. Is there any way we can check it with ebay? or any sections/links in ebay we can report this activity?
post #13 of 44
one more thing how the do you get 260GB 7200rpm [non-raid] i thought that i highest you can have in a 9860 was 200 (100x2)???
post #14 of 44
Thread Starter 
I asked the same thing in my first mail and also about the modal number.
he said he mistyped 9860 and it is 2X 60 GB. Also he not want to pay by paypal. Thats make me lot suspicious.
post #15 of 44
I sent eBay an email telling them to have that person remove my pictures. I also gave a direct link to my review and the 2 pictures. It says it might takes 48 hours to get a reply. I will wait an see since Luke did not get a very fast reply. Since the person is in these Forums it they most likely steal others people pictures as well.
post #16 of 44
rswebhelp@ebay.com

This is the return email adress i got for the report i did, now I am not saying that everyone on the forums should email him...did i say that out loud? Just make sure to include the item number.
post #17 of 44
Thread Starter 
Which section you went to send email to ebay. I was looking for section in ebay to report the suspicious auction but not find specifically for that.
post #18 of 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben
Which section you went to send email to ebay. I was looking for section in ebay to report the suspicious auction but not find specifically for that.
It took me a while to find a link I could use since I don't have an eBay account. I had to delete a post I made after I found this link.

http://cgi1.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAP...roperty+rights
post #19 of 44
i have never bought anything this big on ebay.. it makes me nervous.. but another thing that you can do is check and see if he is verified through paypal.. i contacted them the other day to check on another buyer to make sure he was verified.
post #20 of 44
damn.. that is obviously shady as hell.. he stole your pictures.. i will notify the other bidders.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Sager & Clevo Notebooks
NotebookForums.com › Forums › Notebook Manufacturers › Sager & Clevo Notebook Forums › Sager & Clevo Notebooks › Is this valid auction on ebay fpr Sager 9860?