Notebookforums
 
 Home 
       
 Forums 
 
 Guides 
   
         
 On NBF 
     

You are currently browsing the For Sale/Wanted section. This area is moderated by our staff, but buyers and sellers interact at their own risk. NotebookForums.com has no responsibility to either party in the event of a problem. Given the nature of this type of interactive marketplace, at times there are innapropriate comments made about pricing or products, or listings made by spammers. We request that all members please report any such activity to our moderating staff so that they can remove the post. Simply click the "Report Post" link in the upper right corner of each message. Thanks to all for making this section such a great place to buy and sell laptops!

You cannot post in the For Sale section until you have 25 posts on the forum. Once you reached that amount, you will automatically be allowed to post. See for sale/wanted section rules here.



Go Back   NotebookForums.com > General Notebook Discussions > Notebooks For Sale - Wanted

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2007, 06:37 PM   #106
DCNV
Ex-Fulltime gamer
 
DCNV's Avatar

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal-Vermont
Posts: 53
Credits: 410
 
DCNV is a n00b, but everyone loves n00bs!
Hi there! as you noticed I just recently posted a WTT/WTS a Macbook Pro on Anandtech right after there is a NEW registered member trying to offer 100$ more than what i asked and tell me to go on MSN to complete the deal. I smell something fishy so I tried to dig around his info ( his nick on anandtech is Karbin, msn is NPRYOR@gmail.com). After trying to convince me that he got feedbacks from ebay and ask me to go with WesternUnion, I denied it and tell him that he got less feedbacks so he needs to send MO , right after that he is telling me that he needs to go to sleep and CONFIRM the deal with a member of his family which already slept. Next day he told me that he got a KILLER-LOCAL-DEAL so he wants to step back.
I just want to warn all the sellers/traders here to beware of somebody with that msn email.
Good Luck
DCNV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 09:35 PM   #107
nissanztt90
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 948
Credits: 362
 
nissanztt90 has disabled reputation
Thanks for the warning, def sounds like a scam. Western Union and the backing out when you said no to it gives it away.
nissanztt90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:00 PM   #108
kevineugenius
Makes Mortals Tremble

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,145
Credits: 1,425
 
kevineugenius is a n00b, but everyone loves n00bs!
Got everything cleared up after a couple weeks.
__________________
I am the Phantom Menace of the Opera

Last edited by kevineugenius; 04-13-2008 at 01:43 AM.
kevineugenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 11:59 PM   #109
maxrule
I like to do it myself
 
maxrule's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,600
Credits: 2,288
 
maxrule is a n00b, but everyone loves n00bs!
I had some bad luck Darkloki. Money wasn't actually exchanged but he lead me on for over a couple weeks then disappeared and stopped responding to PM's.
maxrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 05:44 PM   #110
Acclimated
Registered User
 
Acclimated's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 76
Credits: 1,232
 
Acclimated has a few people on his/her side.
Well, You can add me to the list of people who have been scammed through this forum.

BEWARE KSMB

KSMB sent me a dead video card that he advertised as barely used and like new. He refuses to refund my money and now doesn't respond to any messages sent to him.

I have filed a dispute with paypal, although after reading the threads, it looks like I am also going to have to call my credit card and request a chargeback.

I think the moderators should compile a list of all the scammers into a simple and easy to read sticky, without all the side posts and comments. Also, I think they should ban the scammers from the site. If IP addresses can be tracked for commercial sellers posting items for sale, then IP addresses can be tracked for the locatoin of the scammers and if they reapply for membership they should not be allowed.
Acclimated is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SP2 and BT Warning! Ferrari3200 Notebook Forums - General 0 09-01-2004 02:07 PM
*warning...warning* Xp Sp2 skidsr4kids Sager & Clevo Notebooks 30 08-31-2004 05:27 PM
Warning toolb0x Alienware Area-51 and Aurora Notebooks 7 11-07-2003 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001-2009 NotebookForums LLC