|
|
#1 |
|
eBay Scam Help
I'm at a loss of what to do here. I set up an auction for a camera, and this person won it for 139.50. I was only shipping to the US, but it said her location was in the UK, so I was fine with that, I just bumped up her shipping price a little. Well I get this message and now I am very uncomfortable with sending this item. Here it is:
Hello ,I am happy to be the winning bidder of this item.I am a nurse here in u.k. so I am purchasing this item for my husband as he's celebrating his 50th birthday on 30th of november JUST TO WISH HIM HAPPY BIRTHDAY WITH LUV and i will not mind if you can as well get me a birthday card along with the package. My husband is currently in West Afrca (Nigeria) .working with (BRITISH AMERICAN TOBACCO) company in Nigeria.i will like to pay you $100USD for the shipping to him in Nigeria,I will be paying you via my PayPal account in which the money will be credited to your Paypal account its fast and safe,i will be happy if you can send it to him through usps (EMS GLOBAL DELIVERY SERVICE) first class delivery service .So kindly get back to me . Wish you success in your business always. Thanks and stay blessed THIS is THE SHIPPING ADDRESS ADEYEMI ADE BOLARINWA #12 DIKAT HOUSE RING ROAD IBADAN OYO STATE NIGERIA 23402. I've been hearing all these scams that deal with Nigeria, so I really need some help here... The funny thing is that I only bumped her price up a little becuase I thought I would be shipping to the UK, but she mentions that she will pay an extra hundred dollars for shipping. I get an e-mail from paypal saying that 440.00 were deposited into my paypal account... Here is the message from paypal: Payment Details Amount: $440.00 USD Note: Pls Shipping before 21/11/2006 Shipping Information Address: Name:Adeyemi Ade Bolarinwa Address:No 12 Dikat House Ring Road,Ibadan State:Oyo State Country:Nigeria Zipcode:23402 Address Status: Confirmed So, I checked my paypal account and the funds aren't there as of yet, so should I be worried? I'm still having doubts... Your thoughts please.. Last edited by BIGEE1212; 11-20-2006 at 04:12 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
I wouldn't go for it... Check this scam out.
http://forums.ebay.com/db2/thread.js...=1162829704652 Same place "Ring Road Ibadan"
__________________
Mine - Dell XPS M1710 | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2x1GB DDR2 677 Dual Channel | Windows Vista Business | GeForce Go 7900GS (600/800 GTX Bios) | 3DMark05 9269 | 3DMark06 5130 Wifes - Dell Inspiron E1705 | Intel Core Duo T2400 | 2x512MB DDR2 677 Dual Channel | Windows XP Pro | GeForce Go 7900GS |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
LOL that's almost exactly what I got in my email... I'm not going to ship it.. what do you suggest I do? I don't know how to report or anything. so let me know.. also is there any way i can get my listing fee back so i can re list it for free? Thanks..
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 353
Credits: -243
![]() |
Blah Blah Blah I am getting this gift for my Husband, son, daughter, blah blah blah.
Do not ship the item to her, all of the aforementioned are the new ways to scam. I myself have actually encountered a person claiming to be a mom and getting my item for his son, she would like me to wrap it nicely and all those bull until I called bull on her and threatened to call the cops, after that she never replied me again. Say No to scammers. -Thomas
__________________
[XPS410] CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.4Ghz RAM: 2GB RAM @ 667Mhz GPU: eVGA 7950 GT KO 512MB 560/1450 Monitor: Dell 2005FPW Mouse: Logitech G5 |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 353
Credits: -243
![]() |
Just think about it, if she loves her husband, wouldn't her want to write her OWN birthday card to him?...
__________________
[XPS410] CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.4Ghz RAM: 2GB RAM @ 667Mhz GPU: eVGA 7950 GT KO 512MB 560/1450 Monitor: Dell 2005FPW Mouse: Logitech G5 |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
so what should i do... lol. im not going to ship it, but what course of action should i take?
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 836
Credits: 127
![]() |
I'd forward the e-mail to both eBay and PayPal security. If you do ship it, only ship it to the confirmed PayPal address.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 204
Credits: 118
![]() |
They will make a fake email from paypal, like paypalcustomerservice.lawus.gov.com, some BS site thats just used for those kind of scams. They will insist that that this is the real e-mail. Dont believe them.
I almost did and it almost cost me 2,500, good thing for research.
__________________
XPS M1710: T2500 2.0 GHz Core2Duo//Vista Home Premium SP1//17" UltraSharp UXGA//2GB DDR2 RAM//GeForce Go 7950 GS 512MB//100GB HDD//XPS "Steal Me" Backpack/ “If you kill all the wolves, your gonna have a crap load of bunnies, and by bunnies, I mean stupid people."
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 836
Credits: 127
![]() |
Good point Fgo. Always confirm the deposit in your account on PayPal.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: England!!
Posts: 173
Credits: -100
![]() |
I am british but lived in lagos (nigeria) for some time, do not trust them it is a scam, the address is well out of any expat area, where BAT would be based, in fact i think there based on ikoyi island lagos but that doesnt matter. The name is nigerian too so the story does not make much sense, report it to ebay get them banned
__________________
M1710 T2600 - Go7900GTX - 120gb HDD - 1gb 667Mhz Ram - 3dMark05 9070 525/650
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 237
Credits: -264
![]() |
The email address to send it to is spoof@ebay.com and/or spoof@paypal.com. It won't do much, they will just kill the ebay account. How oft I have received those emails when selling tech gear on eBay. They are always the same: I am currently living in [some 1st world country] need to send gift to [relative] in Nigeria. I have wasted so much money in eBay fees thanks to those guys. Sighhhh...
__________________
______________________________________ Inspiron 9300 2.26 pin mod
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
I have gotten those types as well, I send the reports to ebay but I doubt they can track all of them.
I do my part and move on. Save your cash, save yourself some heartache and keep the camera and just offer the SECONDCHANCE if you can... good luck... Good choice in contacting the forums before making a decision. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Take a page out of the p-p-p-powerbook and mail them a cinderblock with a customs value of $1000.
__________________
|Intel E6300@3.5GHz|EVGA NVIDIA 680i|GEIL Ultra 2x1GB PC6400@1000MHz|8800GTS 640MB|3x500GB WD in RAID5|NZXT Adamas Case| |Toshiba M200|Pentium M 740|NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200|1GB DDR PC3200|12.1" WSXGA|100GB 5400RPM|802.11a/b/g| |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Loving my Alien :)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,210
Credits: 100,758
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I had this happen too many times
Never send to any address other than PayPal confirmed This is a scam, no doubt. Once Ebay confirms this, you can get your listing fees back There are far too many of these loosers on Ebay these days
__________________
M17x, FX Red, QX9300, Sli GTX-280, 384 GB SSD, 17" WUXGA, 4 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz 3yr CC M6400, Q9000, FX3700, 8GB DDR3, RGB LED Display, HD, Blu Ray, 1530 WiFi 370 BT, Desktop Water Cooled I7 920, P6T, 12 GB DDR3, Raid 10, Dell 2707, Blu Ray, GTX 295 CO-OP Copper, Swiftech GTZ, Koolance RP 1000BK, My Dells Vostro 1500, Studio 15, M6300,M1710, E1705,3500,4000,4100,5100,5150,6000, 7000,7500,8000,8500,C410,C610,C810,Cpi,CPx. 6400,1501 |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 237
Credits: -264
![]() |
Quote:
![]()
__________________
______________________________________ Inspiron 9300 2.26 pin mod
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Is this a scam (ebay) | Youdidntseethis | Alienware General | 3 | 04-28-2006 07:49 PM |
| Ferrari Scam On Ebay | sodall2doo | Acer Notebooks | 6 | 12-29-2005 10:18 AM |
| Is this a Ebay scam?? | twinturbovenom | Alienware General | 22 | 08-28-2004 07:35 PM |
| ebay possible scam, just to let others know | YelloJello | Notebook Forums - General | 15 | 07-16-2004 08:29 PM |